An absolute beginner

As a high school student who is interested in learning about how these models work, how to build them and eventually contributing to Numerai, where does one start in terms of being able to start building such models and eventually competing. What is the most basic starting point for someone like me? and what are the basic steps / requirements/ knowledge that I’d need to acquire in order to start??

At minimum you’ll want knowledge of three areas to some degree:

1. machine learning
  2. statistics more broadly
  3. programming

There are lots of resources available for basic courses in these areas on sites like coursera, where you can take (or at least audit) most courses for no charge – though obviously what you get out of it is proportional to the effort you put into the courses.

Numerai probably isn’t great as a first project in data science, as here we are blind to the data sources/meaning so some aspects of data analysis aren’t really applicable, and additionally the signal to noise ratio is very low.

Ah, thank you for the response! Will start delving into these areas…

Programming wise would Python be a good place to start and would it be sufficient to learn only this programing language to get started? Or would I need to learn programming in a broader sense
Also, what is meant by a ‘signal to noise ratio’?

Python is a good place to start if you are new to programming, there are many tutorials online for Python and it’s a fairly easy language to pick up.

I will also echo the comment from Daenris. This is not a good project for a first time programmer. This is a very difficult machine learning problem and lots of the techniques you will learn from online tutorials and machine learning material do not apply here. The principles are the same, but the execution is totally different.