Basic question of data

Hi all , i am very new in this domain. and sorry for those basic question.

I check the data set being provided, which includes id (unique index data, no duplication), era 1 to era 120, features, and target.

Here my confusion:

" Each id corresponds to a stock at a specific time era " Lets assume there is APPLE data in the data set, data frequency is daily, and cover last 120 days, then there will be 120 lines of data related to APPLE. How i can identify those 120 line of data related to APPLE ?

Id is a unique index number. so what’s the business reason to predict the target, related to a stock with specific time era ? Should that be a prediction to stock A with next 4 weeks performance ?

Are we looking for a model to predict future without knowing which data elements are linking back to the same stock ?

Are we looking for the prediction for whole market ? can we focus on couple selected stocks ?

sorry, i am really confused.

hope will get some inputs from you guys.

thx.

Hi, you cannot link them together. It is designed that way. If you would be able to link them, then you would be able to determine which stock is which.

Some features are likely composed of temporal data like: lagging indicators, look back, etc.

Also, I recommend you to read all forum before you start implement any model. This is quite repeated question. For example here

1 Like

From my memory, the dataset is not weekly, each era is a 4 week period (without overlap).

Individual targets don’t really tells us much, what we’re really interested in is the order of the targets in a given era, as this tells us the rank of the models with respect to the target, which can be used to make portfolio allocation decisions.