Live Results on FN

Numerai_Client

Hi All,

This post is an analysis comparing 0% and 100% feature neutralization (FN) using the analysis and tips python code for three models across 30 weeks of live data from round 209 to 238.

I decide to write this post following the attention that budbot_7 got for being an early adopter of FN in hope that the community might find it useful. I am not a formally trained data scientist, but I am an engineer who works in a field where poor validation practices can have deadly consequences. I love what the numerai team and community represent. There may be opinions expressed in this post that you disagree with, these comments are made with the utmost respect for the team and community and intended for constructive discussion.

We are going to look at the performance of three models and their 100% neutralized counterparts as per the table below:

Model Designation Description
ENS An ensemble model with 0.94 correlation with example predictions.
ENS_FN As above, 100% neutralized to features
EP Example predictions taken from integration_test_
EP_FN As above, 100% neutralized to features
NN A simple deep neural network with 0.75 correlation with example predictions
NN_FN You should be able to guess what this one is by now

Lets look at a summary of the performance of these models over 30 weeks of resolved rounds from 209 to 238.