Include targets at different time periods

Hi, everyone! I’m new to numerai and preparing for my first tournament.
The dataset contains only one target column and all my models easily overfit it.
Could numerai include targets at different time periods? Preferably, when the trade is executed to the main target period. I think this will help a lot to regularize our models.

1 Like

Yes, so the target for each round is 20 trading days out from when we get the data, i.e. we are predicting 20 trading days into the future. (As far as we know, we are just predicting a future snapshot of a particular day and only the state of things on that single future day matter to our final score. But we don’t actually know that for sure, I keep meaning to ask about that and see if they will confirm.) So what are you asking for then is for targets to be included for some of the intermediate days also?

1 Like

This is exactly what I mean. If the main target is after 20 days I think they could at least include the target at day 5,10,15.

Interesting. I think there is basically zero chance of them doing that, but it is an interesting idea nevertheless.

But I think we have discussed many times before the information value of those intermediate states; those ‘targets’ are just noise.

For just a minute, let’s assume that those targets actually contain some useful information (proof by absurdity going on here). Now let’s think about what would be needed to completely characterize a target:

1. the actual final resolved outcome,
  2. the set of all possible outcomes of the 3 intermediate days.