A Personal Update

Dear friends,

First, I must apologize for my lack of activity. My time at the Federal Reserve was highly restrictive as to the type of outside work I could do, which was a major contributing factor to me leaving that position in June. I am now a Visiting Assistant Professor of Finance at a Florida University.

One week after starting the semester, I became very ill and was hospitalized for three days. I was released with an outpatient treatment plan, which unfortunately failed. I was hospitalized again for four days. I then started an outpatient treatment with IV antibiotics administered by myself at home. Thankfully, I completed that plan successfully and am on the mend.

However, my bad luck continues. During my hospitalization, a large mass was discovered on my right kidney. I made an appointment with a Comprehensive Cancer Center not far from where I now live, which happened last week. Unfortunately, my doctor believes that I have cancer with an 80% chance that the tumor is malignant. I have surgery scheduled to remove the tumor or my entire kidney in late October.

Due to my health, I must resign as a member of the Council of Elders, and retire as a participant.

Numerai, but more so the people involved in Numerai, have absolutely changed my life in a fantastic way. I have had many incredible conversations over the years, and met some truly brilliant people from around the world. Those conversations and collaborative work have shaped my research agenda, and allowed me to work on data science projects I would have never dreamed of 7 years ago.

7 years… What an incredible run. I intend on following Numerai closely, and maybe someday I can return as a participant. I just cannot devote the time necessary to fulfill my obligations to the community which has placed so much trust in me.

Thank you. Thank you so very much.

Jon Taylor (Arbitrage)

49 Likes

Jon,