Any Julia lang developers?

I’m looking for anyone who’s been using Julia for Numerai. To support my fellow Julia developers, I created a version of uuazed/numerapi in Julia:

NumerAPI.jl (https://github.com/richardskim111/NumerAPI)

I managed to copy nearly all of the Python uuazed/numerapi for both the Tournament and Signals, but it still needs a lot of work including documentation. I’m looking for collaborators to finish the library. I also have not published a registered Julia package before so I humbly ask for help from someone who’s done it before.

Hopefully, I am not the only Julia user here, and if so, that would be unfortunate.

I’ve been using Julia since 2016 for graduate school. It has highly readable syntax like Python and Matlab but has the added benefit of having the speed of many low-level languages like C and Fortran. Like most people here, I started Numerai with Python, but I switched to Julia right away, which allowed me to iterate through different models much quicker.

I’m also planning to write a tutorial to introduce Numerai to the broader community of Julia developers. Any suggestion on what I should include in that tutorial would be appreciated.

10 Likes

Hi,

Great work! I use Julia for Numerai and will definitely look into your package and try to contribute in the future.

Regarding publishing “official” Julia packages, I unfortunately don’t have any experience.

1 Like

That’s great! Please raise issues if you run into bugs. That alone helps me a lot.

Really nice! We have a small community on Discord and just recently started an investment game with a Discord.jl bot.

It’s very simple yet, but we may find ways to combine it.

Certainly we can help you with registering the package, and maybe you want to place it into our org if you like.

Feel free to join and introduce yourself, I’m a mod there and my name is Mark.

Check the #trading channel!

Best regards

Hi Mark, Thanks for inviting me to the Discord community. I just joined.