Staking and payout doubts

I am just starting out here and have a bunch of doubts which couldn’t be clarified by existing threads or docs. Help me understand the staking, payouts better.

1. Is the stake submission dependent or there is just one stake value which applies to multiple submissions.
  2. I made a submission in round N with stake 1 NMR. For the next round I make another submission. I am more confident on the latest model so I want to stake more say 5 NMR. Going to numer.ai/models I click on manage stake and increase the stake to 5 for the latest model. So, starting next round I have staked 6 NMR total. Now, is the 6 NMR stake value also applicable to the (bad) first submission? Ideally it should be 1 NMR.
  3. Considering that I want to stake in each round, do we need to explicitly manage the stake for the latest model and increase the stake?

I’m afraid I can only help with the first question you have as I am also new here. I believe stakes are model dependent. For example, if you have two models you can use one as a ‘stable’ version of your model which you know performs fairly well and use the other model to test your new experiments. This allows you to stake on your stable model so you are more likely to earn money and you don’t have to worry about your second model burning your stake if it does not perform well.

Each individual model has its own stake. (“Model” maybe isn’t the best term they could have used there since you can change the actual predictive model week to week and submit it under that same “model” name – but each named slot is currently independent, yes.) And the stake on that slot will keep rolling over and be applied to further rounds until you do a withdrawal, assuming you submit on those further rounds. If you skip a round, there is a reputation penalty (for leaderboard rank purposes), but it will not jeopardize your stake. However, understand that rounds are 4 weeks long overlapping, so there are 4 active rounds at a time.